.按服务分类的药房福利管理市场分析(专业药房服务、药品名册管理、福利计划设计与咨询以及其他服务);按商业模式(政府健康计划、雇主资助计划和健康保险管理);以及最终用户(药品福利管理组织、邮购、零售、住院和门诊药房)——2023-2033 年全球供需分析和机会展望。

  • 报告编号: 4547
  • 发布日期: Feb 24, 2023
  • 报告格式: PDF, PPT

全球药品福利管理市场定义

药品福利管理 (PBM) 是一组充当保险公司、药房和药品制造商调解人的业务。 PBM 负责为保险公司和保险公司降低处方成本。他们通过与药房和药品生产商协商来实现这一目标。保险公司随后得到折扣,通过小幅提高药价或保留一部分回扣来获取利润。

这项服务可以帮助客户或雇主以尽可能低的价格获得药物。 PBM 经理与药品生产商和合同药房协商折扣。他们还为会员提供维持和改善健康状况的计划,并对其进行密切监控。处方药的制定是由医生或药剂师根据有效性和成本评估处方药清单。

未列入处方集的药品均按原价销售,不予折扣。保险公司聘请 PBM 来管理医疗索赔期间的成本。药品制造商降低了这些保险公司的药品成本,因为他们正在向数百万人推销其药品。该领域的竞争非常激烈,因为他们在价格谈判中发挥着巨大的作用。

全球药品福利管理市场:主要见解

基准年

2022年

预测年份

2023-2033

复合年增长率

〜6%

基准年市场规模(2022 年)

~ 5000 亿美元

预测年度市场规模(2033 年)

~ 7000 亿美元

区域范围

  • 北美洲(美国和加拿大)
  • 拉丁美洲(墨西哥、阿根廷、拉丁美洲其他地区)
  • 亚太地区(日本、中国、印度、印度尼西亚、马来西亚、澳大利亚、亚太地区其他地区)
  • 欧洲(英国、德国、法国、意大利、西班牙、俄罗斯、北欧、欧洲其他地区)
  • 中东和非洲(以色列、海湾合作委员会北非、南非、中东其他地区和非洲)

2023 - 2033 年全球药品福利管理市场规模、预测和趋势亮点

预计到 2033 年底,全球药品福利管理市场将获得 7000 亿美元的收入,在预测期内(即 2023 年至 2033 年)复合年增长率约为 6%。此外,该市场还产生了 7000 亿美元的收入。 2022 年将达到 5000 亿美元。预计医疗保健支出的增加和各类慢性病患病率的急剧上升将在预测期内推动市场增长。 2020年美国国民医疗保健支出将增长至9.7%,即4.1万亿美元。慢性病包括糖尿病、高血压、中风、心脏病、癌症、关节炎、肥胖、口腔疾病和呼吸系统疾病。所有这些持续了一年多,最终可能导致住院和死亡。慢性病通常发生在老年人群中,因为他们的免疫力低下。这些类型的疾病影响生活质量,需要持续服用药物作为唯一的治疗方法,预计将促进全球药品福利管理市场的增长。

药房-福利-管理-市场-概述。

药品福利管理有助于通过保险公司以最便宜的价格向雇主提供医疗服务和药品。更多的客户被 PBM 服务所吸引,以增加他们接触许多药品和零售药店的机会。此外,市场上存在许多具有相同原料药成分的药品,由于这些药品价格的细微差别,给生产商和消费者带来了困难。除此之外,在配药药房中采用 ML(机器学习)和 AI(人工智能)来减少人工错误预计将推动市场的增长。例如,根据观察,在 100,000 个处方中,一名医院药剂师平均会出现 5 个错误。

全球药品福利管理市场:增长动力和挑战

增长动力

  • 减少因处方写得不好而发生的用药错误的需求激增——药物错误发生在准备、分发、配药和管理过程中。此外,用药错误的发生是由于制造商、配方设计师、药剂师、医生或护士、或任何医务人员或护理人员的疏忽造成的。它会对身体造成严重损害,在某些情况下可能导致中毒和死亡。因此,非常需要防止用药错误,预计将在未来几年推动市场增长。例如,在美国,每年约有 7000 至 9000 人因用药错误而死亡。

  • 药店区域化程度不断提高,更加贴近民众——截至 2022 年,美国药店和药店数量达到 28,000 家。此外,2018年,美国有超过800家药店拥有专业认证,例如独立药店和小型区域药店。

  • 随着寿命的延长,老年人口数量增加——预计从 2020 年到 2050 年,全球 80 岁及以上的人口将比目前增加 4.27 亿。

  • 劳动力成本上升导致投资成本上升——据估计,到2022年美国平民工资将上涨至5.3%

挑战

  • 严格的政府法规——据估计,严格的政府法规对 PBM 具有显着的约束作用。现在,它们不仅在决定患者获得哪些处方方面发挥着主导作用,而且在决定消费者、药剂师和健康计划为这些药物花费多少方面也发挥着主导作用。许多批评者指责 PBM 给医疗保健系统增加了大量成本,而不是节省资金。作为中间人,他们增加了复杂性和支出,但政府却没有任何回报。
  • 盈利不透明
  • 对在线设施缺乏认识

市场细分

全球药品福利管理市场按服务的需求和供应进行细分和分析,分为专业药房服务、药品处方管理、福利计划设计和咨询以及其他服务。其中,由于需要长时间治疗的复杂和慢性疾病的患病率不断上升,预计到 2033 年底,专业药房服务将占据最大的市场规模。例如,到 2020 年,超过 50% 的美国人至少患有一种慢性病,超过 27% 的美国成年人患有多种慢性病。患有两种或多种慢性病的情况在世界范围内是一个日益严重的问题。越来越多的人,尤其是老年人口,正在遭受这些多病性疾病的困扰。此外,多种疾病的结合会增加这些人的死亡风险。寿命的延长也是慢性疾病发病的原因。糖尿病的发生会导致免疫力下降、自愈力下降,并增加患高血压、心脏病、肾功能衰竭等疾病的机会。

全球药品福利管理市场还按最终用户的需求和供应进行细分和分析,分为药品福利管理组织、邮购、零售、住院和门诊药房。在这些细分市场中,零售药房细分市场预计将占据重要份额,因为它是全球增长最快的行业。此外,人们获得的信贷日益增加,影响了客户的购买能力。因此,零售药剂师建立的客户关系使他们更加依赖零售商店。他们之间建立了信任,因为直接的人际接触让消费者在从此类药房购买药品时更有信心。此外,零售药店会立即、毫不拖延地向消费者提供药品。这提高了零售药店的忠实顾客率。据估计,2021 年美国零售药店数量约为 60,000 家,而药房总数为 67,000 家。

我们对全球药品福利管理市场的深入分析包括以下部分:

按服务

  • 专业药房服务
  • 药品名册管理
  • 福利计划设计与咨询
  • 其他服务

按商业模式

  • 政府健康计划
  • 雇主资助计划
  • 健康保险管理

 

按最终用户

  • 药房福利管理组织
  • 邮购药房
  • 零售药店
  • 住院药房
  • 门诊药房

全球药品福利管理市场区域概要

预计到 2033 年底,北美药品福利管理市场将在所有其他地区的市场中占据最大的市场份额。该市场的增长主要归功于在线药店渗透率的提高。例如,据估计,美国使用网络处方配药的成年人数量已从 2009 年的 6% 显着增加到 2018 年的 12%。此外,先进医疗保健解决方案的不断采用以及完善的健康产业的存在是推动该地区市场增长的其他一些增长因素。一切事物的现代化和数字化的不断发展极大地改善了医疗保健行业。 电子商务软件和平台在各个领域的日益渗透也影响了细分市场的增长。此外,药剂师负责正确配药,因为配药时的任何小错误都会导致多种并发症。有时医生手写的处方可能难以辨认,而网上的处方字体清晰可见。此外,所有与药物相关的信息,如剂量、给药途径、治疗用途、禁忌症和副作用,都可以在在线平台上获得。所有这些都有助于任何非医务人员了解他们的帮助情况。根据市场分析,在线处方的日益增长的优势会影响预测期内该地区市场的增长。

药房-福利-管理-市场-区域。

主导全球药品福利管理市场的顶级特色公司

  • CVBS 健康公司
    • 公司简介
    • 经营策略
    • 主要产品
    • 财务绩效
    • 关键绩效指标
    • 风险分析
    • 近期发展
    • 区域分布
    • SWOT分析
  • SS&C 技术控股公司
  • 联合健康集团
  • 来德援助公司
  • 快捷药方控股公司
  • 贝尼卡德服务有限责任公司。
  • CAPTURERX有限责任公司
  • 改变医疗保健
  • 圣歌保险公司
  • ProCare Rx


In-the-news

在新闻中

  • CVS Health Corporation设计了一项供应商福利管理服务,以帮助 CVS Caremark 药房福利管理的客户,并宣布该服务可在数字和非数字平台上管理、签约和实施他们选择的健康福利解决方案。

  • Rite Aid Corporation 的子公司 Elixir 宣布向共付额解决方案的客户推出专业通用增强功能,以 0 美元共付额为他们提供特定的特殊药物,每年节省 40,000 美元。

 

作者学分:  Radhika Pawar


  • 报告编号: 4547
  • 发布日期: Feb 24, 2023
  • 报告格式: PDF, PPT

常見問題 (FAQ)

减少用药错误的需求激增以及药房区域化程度的提高是推动药品福利管理市场增长的主要因素。

预计市场在预测期内(即 2023 年至 2033 年)的复合年增长率将达到 6% 左右。

严格的政府监管和盈利不透明是影响市场增长的挑战。

预计到2033年底,北美地区市场将占据最大的市场份额,并在未来提供更多的商机。

.市场上的主要参与者是 CVS Health Corporation、SS&C Technologies Holdings Inc.、UnitedHealth Group、Rite Aid Corporation、Express Scripts Holding Company、Benecard Services, LLC.、CaptureRx Inc.、Change Healthcare、Anthem Insurance Companies Inc.、Procare接收..

.公司概况的选择基于产品领域产生的收入、公司的地理分布(决定创收能力)以及公司向市场推出的新产品。

.市场按服务、商业模式、最终用户和地区进行细分。

预计到 2033 年底,专业药房服务领域将获得最大的市场规模,并显示出巨大的增长机会。
購買前詢問 索取免費樣品

  获取免费样品

免费样本副本包括市场概述、增长趋势、统计图表和表格、预测估计等等。

 索取免费样品副本

订购此报告之前如有疑问 ?

购买前询问

Pharmacy Benefit Management Market Size & Share, by Service (Specialty Pharmacy Services, Drug Formulary Management, Benefit Plan Design & Consultation, Other Services); Business Model (Government Health Programs, Employer-Sponsored Programs, Health Insurance Management); End-user (Pharmacy Benefit Management Organization, Mail Order, Retail, Inpatient, Outpatient Pharmacies) - Global Supply & Demand Analysis, Growth Forecasts, Statistics Report 2023-2033

  • Report ID: 4547
  • Published Date: Feb 24, 2023
  • Report Format: PDF, PPT

Global Pharmacy Benefit Management Market Definition

The pharmacy benefit management (PBM) is a set of businesses that act as mediators for insurance companies, pharmacies, and medication manufacturers. PBMs are in charge of procuring reduced prescription costs for insurers and insurance corporations. They achieve this through consultation with pharmacies and medicine producers. Insurance firms are subsequently given the reductions, and the profits are obtained by slightly increasing drug prices or keeping a portion of rebates.

This service helps customers or employers to get the medications at the possible lowest price. The PBM managers negotiate for discounts with drug producers and contract pharmacies. They also provide programs to the members to maintain and improve their health conditions, which they monitoring very closely. A formulary is developed where a prescription drug list is evaluated by doctors or pharmacists based on effectiveness and cost.

The drugs that are not on the list of the formulary are sold at their original price without any discount. Insurance companies hire PBMs to manage their costs during medical claims. The drug manufacturer reduces the cost of the drugs for these insurance companies as they are promoting their drug products to millions of people. The competition in this field is very high, as they play a huge role in price negotiation. 

Global Pharmacy Benefit Management Market: Key Insights

Base Year

2022

Forecast Year

2023-2033

CAGR

~6%

Base Year Market Size (2022)

~ USD 500 Billion

Forecast Year Market Size (2033)

~ USD 700 Billion

Regional Scope

  • North America (U.S., and Canada)
  • Latin America (Mexico, Argentina, Rest of Latin America)
  • Asia-Pacific (Japan, China, India, Indonesia, Malaysia, Australia, Rest of Asia-Pacific)
  • Europe (U.K., Germany, France, Italy, Spain, Russia, NORDIC, Rest of Europe)
  • Middle East and Africa (Israel, GCC North Africa, South Africa, Rest of the Middle East and Africa)

Global Pharmacy Benefit Management Market Size, Forecast, and Trend Highlights Over 2023 - 2033

The global pharmacy benefit management market is estimated to garner a revenue of USD 700 Billion by the end of 2033 by growing at a CAGR of ~6% over the forecast period, i.e., 2023 – 2033. Further, the market generated a revenue of USD 500 Billion in the year 2022. Rising healthcare expenditure and a radical upsurge in the prevalence of various types of chronic diseases are estimated to boost market growth during the forecast period. The national healthcare expenditure of the U.S. raised to 9.7%, i.e., to 4.1 trillion in 2020. Chronic diseases include diabetes, hypertension, stroke, heart disease, cancer, arthritis, obesity, oral disorders, and respiratory diseases. All these last more than one year and may lead to hospitalization and death eventually. Chronic diseases usually occur in the aged population, as they are immune compromised. These types of diseases affect the quality of life and require continuous medication intake as the only remedy, and it is anticipated to increase the growth of the global pharmacy benefit management market.

Pharmacy-Benefit-Management-Market-overview. Get more information on this report:Download Sample PDF

 Pharmacy benefit management aids to provide medical services and drugs at the cheapest price to employers through insurance companies. More customers are attracted to PBM services to increase their access to many pharmaceuticals and retail pharmacies. Further, the availability of many drugs with the same composition of APIs in the market makes it difficult for the manufacturers and consumers owing to the slightest difference in prices of these drugs. Besides this, the adoption of ML (machine learning) and AI (artificial intelligence) in dispensing pharmacies to reduce manual errors is expected to fuel the growth of the market. For instance, as per observations, out of 100,000 prescriptions, a hospital pharmacist makes an overall average of 5 errors.

Global Pharmacy Benefit Management Market: Growth Drivers and Challenges

Growth Drivers

  • Surge in Need to Reduce Medication Errors that Occur Owing to Badly Written Prescriptions – Medication errors occur in preparation, distribution, dispensing, and administration. Furthermore, the medication errors take place on account of the negligence of manufacturers, formulators, pharmacists, doctors or nurses, or any medical person or caretaker. It cause serious damage to the body and may lead to poisoning and death in some cases. Therefore, there is a strong need to prevent medication errors, and it is expected to boost the market growth in the upcoming years. For instance, every year, in the U.S. about 7000 to 9000 people die on account of medication errors.

  • Rising Regionalization of Pharmacies to Increase More Approach to the People – As of 2022, the number of pharmacies and drug stores in the U.S. reached 28,000. In addition, in 2018, more than 800 pharmacies in the U.S. had specialty accreditations, such as independent and small regional pharmacies.

  • Increase in Aged Population with Rising Longevity – From 2020 and 2050, it is predicted to be 427 million more people who are 80 years of age or older than there are today around the globe.

  • Rise in Labor Costs that Rises the Investment Cost – As per estimates, civilian wages and salaries are increased to 5.3% by 2022 in the U.S.

Challenges

  • Stringent Government Regulations Stringent government regulations are estimated to play a significant restraint as PBMs. Now, they have a dominant role in determining not just what prescriptions patients get, and also how much consumers, pharmacists, and health plans spend for those drugs. Many critics charge that PBMs add significant costs to the healthcare system rather than saving it money. As an intermediary, they add levels of complexity and expenditures with no return for the government.
  • No Transparency in the Earnings
  • Lack of Awareness about Online Facilities

Market Segmentation

The global pharmacy benefit management market is segmented and analyzed for demand and supply by service into specialty pharmacy services, drug formulary management, benefit plan design & consultation, and other services. Out of which, specialty pharmacy services are anticipated to hold the largest market size by the end of 2033 on the back of the rising prevalence of complex and chronic diseases that require a profound time to be treated. For instance, more than 50% of Americans had at least one chronic condition and more than 27% of U.S adults had multiple chronic conditions in 2020. The instance of two or more chronic conditions is a rising issue across the world. More people, especially the old age population, are suffering from these multimorbidity disorders. In addition, the combination of diseases increases the risk of death for these people. Increasing longevity is also the reason for the incidence of chronic disorders. The incidence of diabetes leads to lower immunity, reduced healing power, and higher chances of the occurrence of diseases such as hypertension, heart disorders, and renal failure.

The global pharmacy benefit management market is also segmented and analyzed for demand and supply by end-user into pharmacy benefit management organization, mail order, retail, inpatient, and outpatient pharmacies. Amongst these segments, the retail pharmacies segment is expected to garner a significant share, as it is the fastest-growing industry around the world. Moreover, the increasing availability of credit for people impacts their purchasing capacity of the customers. Therefore, retail pharmacists build customer relationships which makes them rely more on retail stores. Trust is built between them as direct human contact gives more confidence to the consumer while purchasing medicines from the such pharmacy. Also, retail pharmacies deliver medicines immediately and without delay in front of the consumer. This increases the loyal customer rate in retail pharmacies. The number of retail pharmacies in the U.S. in 2021 was about 60,000 out of a total count of 67,000 pharmacy facilities, as per the estimations.

Our in-depth analysis of the global pharmacy benefit management market includes the following segments:

                          By Service

  • Specialty Pharmacy Services
  • Drug Formulary Management
  • Benefit Plan Design & Consultation
  • Other Services

                           By Business Model

  • Government Health Programs
  • Employer-Sponsored Programs
  • Health Insurance Management

 

                              By End-User

  • Pharmacy Benefit Management Organization
  • Mail Order Pharmacies
  • Retail Pharmacies
  • Inpatient Pharmacies
  • Outpatient Pharmacies

Global Pharmacy Benefit Management Market Regional Synopsis

The North America pharmacy benefit management market, amongst the market in all the other regions, is projected to hold the largest market share by the end of 2033. The growth of the market can be attributed majorly to the account of elevating penetration of online pharmacies. For instance, as per the estimations, the number of adults who use web-based prescription filling notably has increased from 6% in 2009 to 12% in 2018 in the United States. Furthermore, escalating adoption of advanced healthcare solutions along with the existence of a well-established health industry are some other growth factors that are propelling the market growth in the region. The rising modernization and digitalization of everything improved the healthcare industry a lot. The increasing penetration of e-commerce software and platform in every sector also impacts the growth of the market segment. Moreover, pharmacists are responsible for the proper dispensing of drugs, as any small error in drug dispensing will lead to several complications. Sometimes the handwritten prescriptions of doctors can be unreadable, and on the other hand, the online prescription is clearly visible with a good font. Also, all the drug-related information, such as dosage, administration route, therapeutic use, contraindications, and side effects, is available on online platforms. All these help any nonmedical person to understand the condition of their help. The increasing advantage of online prescriptions impacts the growth of the market in the region during the forecast periods as per the market analysis.

pharmacy-Benefit-Management-Market-regional.

Top Featured Companies Dominating the Global Pharmacy Benefit Management Market

  • CVBS Health Corporation
    • Company Overview
    • Business Strategy
    • Key Product Offerings
    • Financial Performance
    • Key Performance Indicators
    • Risk Analysis
    • Recent Development
    • Regional Presence
    • SWOT Analysis
  • SS&C Technologies Holdings Inc.
  • UnitedHealth Group
  • Rite Aid Corporation
  • Express Scripts Holding Company
  • Benecard Services, LLC.
  • CAPTURERX LLC
  • Change Healthcare
  • Anthem Insurance Companies, Inc. 
  • ProCare Rx


In-the-news

In the News

  • CVS Health Corporation designed a Vendor Benefit Management service to help the customers of CVS Caremark Pharmacy Benefit Management and announced its availability to manage, contract, and implement their choice of health benefit solutions in the digital and non-digital platforms.

  • Rite Aid Corporation’s subsidiary Elixir announced the introduction of a specialty generic enhancement to the clients of copay solutions to provide them with specific specialty medications at USD 0 copay to save USD 40,000 every year.

 


Author Credits:  Radhika Gupta, Shivam Bhutani


  • Report ID: 4547
  • Published Date: Feb 24, 2023
  • Report Format: PDF, PPT

Key Questions Answered in the Report

1) What are the major factors driving the growth of the pharmacy benefit management market?

Ans: Surge in the need to reduce medication errors and the rising regionalization of pharmacies are the major factors driving the growth of the pharmacy benefit management market.

2) What would be the CAGR of pharmacy benefit management market over the forecast period?

Ans: The market is anticipated to attain a CAGR of ~6% over the forecast period, i.e., 2023 – 2033.

3) What are the challenges affecting the pharmacy benefit management market growth?

Ans: Stringent government regulations and no transparency in the earnings are the challenges affecting the market growth.

4) Which region will provide more business opportunities for growth of pharmacy benefit management market in future?

Ans: The market in North America region is projected to hold the largest market share by the end of 2033 and provide more business opportunities in the future.

5) Who are the major players dominating the pharmacy benefit management market?

Ans: The major players in the market are CVS Health Corporation, SS&C Technologies Holdings Inc., UnitedHealth Group, Rite Aid Corporation, Express Scripts Holding Company, Benecard Services, LLC., CaptureRx Inc., Change Healthcare, Anthem Insurance Companies Inc., Procare Rx.

6) How are the company profiles selected?

Ans: The company profiles are selected based on the revenues generated from the product segment, geographical presence of the company which determine the revenue generating capacity as well as the new products being launched into the market by the company.

7) What are the segments in the pharmacy benefit management market?

Ans: The market is segmented by service, business model, end-user, and by region.

8) Which segment captures the largest market size in service in the pharmacy benefit management market?

Ans: The specialty pharmacy services segment is anticipated to garner the largest market size by the end of 2033 and display significant growth opportunities.

  GET A FREE SAMPLE

FREE Sample Copy includes market overview, growth trends, statistical charts & tables, forecast estimates, and much more.

 Request Free Sample Copy

Have questions before ordering this report?

Inquiry Before Buying